Swayambu Nadeeshwarar Mambattu

Swayambu Nadeeshwarar, Mambattu

Saivite Temples, Thiruvannamalai District


Swayambu Nadeeshwarar, facing east


Periyanayaki, facing east

Other Deities

Annamalaiyar, Naalvar, Selva Vinayakar, Muruga with consorts, Srinivasa Perumal, Padmavathi Thaayar, Navagraha, Kalabhairava, Surya, Anjaneya. Sanctum niches (main deity) – Narthana Ganapathi, Dakshinamurthy, Mahavishnu, Brahma, Chandikeswara, Durga. Sanctum niches (Annamalaiyar Sanctum) – Narthana Ganapathi, Dakshinamurthy, Lingotbavar, Brahma, Durga

Swayambu Nadeeshwarar Mambattu is a small and beautiful temple located beneath a hill with a small Murugan temple on top. The east-facing temple campus is filled with beautiful flowering plants and shade-giving trees. A large temple pond is located southeast of the temple just outside with steps leading down to the water. The temple has a single prakaram with two sanctums for Lord Shiva, one for the main deity, and one for Annamalaiyar. There are totally 4 Nandis here including an ancient one. Except for the main deity and Annamalaiyar most of the other idols are new. Outside the entrance on the south side is a stone Dwajasthambam.

Holy Water (Theertham) – Temple Pond

Sacred Tree (Sthala Vriksham) – No information


Swayambu Nadeeshwarar Mambattu is an ancient temple which has been renovated in recent times. A number of stone inscriptions are found on the outer walls of the Muruga Shrine. The details of these are awaited and will be updated soon.


The lingam in Swayambu Nadeeshwarar Mambattu was discovered buried in the earth and thus has the prefix Swayambu to the name.


Swayambu Nadeeshwarar Mambattu is 4 kilometers west of Polur. Take a right at the junction in Mambattu to reach Swayambu Nadeeshwarar Mambattu.

Stay and Food

None locally. Closest for food would be Polur.

error: Content is protected !!