Tiruvadhigai Veeratteswarar Temple


Paadal Petra Sthalams - Cuddalore District


Veeratteswarar (also Veerattanadar, Adhigainadar), facing east


Thirupurasundari facing east

Other Deities

Vinayaka, Muruga, Thilakavadhi, Thirunavukkarasar, Sekkizhar, 63 Nayanmar, Panchamugalingam, Navagrahas, Natarajar, Pitchadanar, Asthradevar, Naalvar, Chandikeswarar, Dakshinamurthy, Durga, Kalyanasundarar, Sarabamurthy, Esupadhar

Tiruvadhigai Veeratteswarar Temple is an east facing temple with an imposing 7 tier Rajagopuram. this gopuram has some excellent images of events and episodes relating to the history of this temple and also the 108 positions described in Bharata Shastra. Opposite the Rajagopuram is a 16 Pillared Mantapa. Inside in the first Prakaram there is one more 16 Pillared Mantapa, a Holy Tank and a 100 pillared Mantapa. The inner Prakaram is entered through a 5 tiered Gopuram. The main deity here is a large Lingam with 16 faces. Behind the main deity is image of Somaskandar. The goddess is in a separate shrine. Tiruvadhigai Veeratteswarar Temple is one of the eight Veerathiruvilayadal (killing of wrong doers) Sthalams of Lord Shiva. This is where the elder sister of Thirunavukkrasar, Thilagavathi stayed and served the lord. Thirunavukkarasar left the faith of Jainsim and embraced Saivism here at Tiruvadhigai Veeratteswarar Temple and got cured from a disease that had severely afflicted him.

Holy Water (Theertham) – Sankara Theertham, Gedilam River

Sacred Tree (Sthala Vriksham) – Sarakondrai (Indian Laburnum, Cassia fistula)


Thirunavukkarasar, Thirugnanasambandar and Sundarar (7th – 8th Century CE) have sung Thevaram Hymns in praise of the lord of Tiruvadhigai Veeratteswarar Temple. Stone inscriptions refer to this place as Adiraiya Mangalam, Adhirajamangalam and Adhirajamangaliyapuram.


Tiruvadhigai Veeratteswarar Temple is the place from where Shiva destroyed three Rakshashas (Demons) and the three cities (Tripura) created by them with the arrow given to him by Lord Vishnu (as Saranarayana Perumal). Shiva after an intense and fiery fight, destroyed the Asura Tripuran and thus attained the name Tripurantaka. Shiva, after burning down Tripura, dipped his three fingers in the ashes, which signifies the three lines of ash worn by Saivites on their forehead.


Tiruvadhigai Veeratteswarar Temple is 2 kms on the Panruti-Cuddalore road.

Stay and Food

Panruti and Cuddalore have good restaurants

error: Content is protected !!