Thanjaimamani Kovil

Thanjaimamani Kovil

108 Divya Desam Temples, Thanjavur District


Neelamega Perumal (Maamani Kovil), Manikundra perumal (Manikundram) and Veera Narasimha Perumal (Thanjaiyali Kovil)


Sengamalavalli (Maamani Kovil), Ambujavalli (Manikundram) and Thanjainayagi (Thanjaiyali Kovil)

Other Deities

to be updated

Thanjaimamani Kovil are a group of three adjacent temples east facing temples – Maamani Kovil, Manikundram and Thanjaiyali Kovil. The three temples together are considered as One Divya Desam and part of the 108 Divya Desam Temples.

Holy Water (Theertham) – Kanniga Pushkarini (Maamani Kovil), Rama Theertham – Vennar River (Manikundram) and Surya Pushkarini – Vennar River (Thanjaiyali Kovil)

Vimaanam – Soundarya Vimaanam (Maamani Kovil), Manikooda Vimaanam (Manikundram) and Veda Sundara Vimaanam (Thanjaiyali Kovil)


Mangalasasanam has been rendered by Thirumangai Azhwar and Boodhathazhwar (part of the 12 Azhwars, 7 – 9th Century CE) here at Thanjaimamani Kovil.


The legend of Thanjaimamani Kovil has it that three Asuras who approached Lord Shiva for the boon of immortality were told by him that only Lord Vishnu the preserver can provide this. However, he granted the boon with conditions. Armed with it they started troubling people and sages. At last on the request of Sage Parasar Lord Vishnu appeared in different forms and killed them. One of them Thanjagan (an elephant form) was killed by the lord in the form of Narasimha. Thus the name of the temple is Thanjai Yali (elephant) Kovil. This is also the legend attached the name of Thanjavur itself.


Thanjaimamani Kovil cluster is about 4 kilometers north of Thanjavur on the Thiruvaiyaru Road. You can visit them one after the other whichever side you come from.

Stay and Food

Thanjavur has many excellent Hotels and Restaurants

error: Content is protected !!