Aadhinadhar Temple, Vayalur

Aadhinadhar Temple, Vayalur



Aadhinadhar, facing east


Aadhinayagi, facing south

Other Deities

Poyyaganapathi, Muthukumaran (Muruga), Mahalakshmi, Durga, Dakshinamurthy, Chandikeswara, Arunagirinadar, Navagraha

Aadhinadhar Temple, Vayalur also called Vayalur Murugan Temple is a Shiva temple where Muruga is more popular. The temple is east facing with an entrance arch and a 5 tier Rajagopuram. The Holy Tank is in front of the temple. In the Navagrahas, Surya with his consorts are in the middle with the others facing him. The Chathura Thandava posture of Lord Nataraja is worth seeing. Thiruvasi and Muyalagan (dwarf-demon) at his feet are not found. The shrine of Lord Muruga with his consorts is on the backside of the Shiva shrine. All 3 are in a standing position with Peacock mount facing left at Deivayanai. It is called Devendra Mayil.

Holy Water (Theertham) – Sakthitheertham, believed to have created by Muruga with his lance.

Sacred Tree (Sthala Vriksham) – Vanni (Prosopis cineraria)


Aadhinadhar Temple, Vayalur was built by the Cholas before 9th century CE. Around 20 stone inscriptions in the temple mention donations made in the form of land, food, lamps etc by Rajakesari Verman, Kulothunga Chola, Raja Raja Chola 1, Kopperukesari Verman and Rajendra Chola. Arunagirinadhar has sung 18 Thirupugazh hymns here.


Muruga is believed to have blessed Arunagirinadar to render the Tirupugazh here.


Aadhinadhar Temple, Vayalur is about 8 kilometers from Thiruchirapalli and many local buses ply here.

Stay and Food

Tea and snack shops available locally.

error: Content is protected !!